INFP and the Rat Race

Hi.

If you are an INFP or you know someone is an INFP, chances are you know that this particular type is especially adverse towards eking out an existence of drudgery in the form of a 9-5 job. I used to call it the ‘rats in the successful capitalist experiment.’ See, scorning the entire concept helped me, as an INFP, to cope with it.

Almost everyone is steered towards the conventional path in life. Get good grades, get a degree, get a job, work at a job for five days a week, dive into the embrace of the weekends and then start it all over again. And again. And again. And again. Until your teeth fall out and your eyesight grows dim and your hair fades and withers into white straggles. And then, hooray! You’re free to quit your job. You’re free to quit the rat race. Because now you’re retired. Now you can enjoy your life. Now you can write the books you always wanted to write, paint the things you always wanted to paint, travel the places you always wanted to go. Now wouldn’t it feel better if your mind was vernal and your body youthful and supple, so you could do all those things you loved with ebullient spirit?

Before I came to terms with the whole thing, money was the scapegoat in my mind. Money was the root of all evil. ALL EVIL. If there was no money, there wouldn’t be a rat race and single mothers wouldn’t have to drag themselves to work just to get by. But then I realized money was inevitable because it dealt with human selfishness. Would we provide any services to other people and would other people provide services to us if they did not receive compensation for their work? Some compassionate people. But most people wouldn’t and society would entirely crumble due to pure selfishness. So. I told myself, money is necessary. Now what?

Let me just say it. I don’t believe that personality types usually predisposes anyone to greater or lesser fiscal gains in the future. But I do believe it may have an impact when it comes to INFPs. First of all, all the lucrative careers such as accounting, business, law and even medicine (this one is only personal) are all odious to me. And then, we are introverted and highly sensitive which is a disadvantage in most work places. And we have to find a meaningful jobs that fulfill our ideals. Unfortunately, such jobs do not provide a hefty paycheck.

In the end I was left with this. The rat race is inevitable. Money is inevitable. My personality traits were inevitable. My desire for a meaningful job was inevitable, or my soul would die (not an exaggeration, never underestimate the power of stress or monotony or meaninglessness). How was I to live on a good income in my idealistic bubble? How was I not to feel like a cog in the machines of something money-hungry and despicable?

I don’t have a magical solution. But I believe I have come to a logical one (INFP logic!). The key to living the life I want is to save money. I don’t care for many materialistic goods anyway. This way, I can work at a meaningful job that pays not a great deal and still have enough money to cover necessities and enjoy life. As I said, it’s not a magical solution as saving can be hard work. But I think it’s the best option yet. I think I will write a post on materialism next, a post from a girl (yours truly) who believes the only things worth spending on are the necessities of life and books and food for the cats.

 

Goodbye.

Are you in the rat race and what are you doing to try and get out of it? It’s a hard-knock life.

20 thoughts on “INFP and the Rat Race

  1. Couldn’t agree with you more! I always thought this way as well. It can’t be helped that most companies / establishments thrive by having more extroverted individuals as employees. We do what we can. It’s unfortunate, but there’s other things we can focus on. Sorry I’m rambling xD
    I totally agree with you ~ Great post!

    • Hi Lani 🙂 Yeah, it is unfortunate but I guess being introverted has its perks as well, such as being good listeners, creativity, empathy, etc. I guess we make do with the unique abilities that we have and just try to adapt. No worries, my blog welcomes rambling! Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting 🙂

  2. I’m winning! (i’ll get to this later)
    But I love your short concise meaning of life. Seriously, it describes it perfectly.
    Back to winning… yea I dont make shit tons of money but my dad has taught me it isnt how much you make but how much you save. I dont like materialistic things either but do love the necessities and the random hobbies that keep me happy. Ok so i’m not necessarily winning. I still have to figure out how to get out of this 9-5 “hell hole”.

  3. I completely relate to you,, Omg I am a year late! But anyway.. I loved your post.. I’ve been reading INFP blogs for many days.. And I truly appreciate your efforts. It really helps. And yah, it is in my nature to save money, Idk. since i was a child. I just love to save, save and in the back of my mind I know it’ll be spent on something meaningful. Maybe an adventure ?
    For instance, I spent my own money to start playing tennis/coaching.. My dad wasn’t willing to pay.

    • I do apologise for not reply earlier. Thank you for reading and liking my post. I truly wish you great happiness. Let us dreamers be happy, and live and dream and believe and thrive in our own way.

  4. Wow..came across your post and really relevant and well written as a INFP who got degree as an accountant, working as Management Accountant with a High salary, yet not fulfilled.
    No job will fill the void, given strict rules and hierarchy.

    Hope the saving goes well, I also dont have the answer, yet have faith my non spending habits will allow me to invest, so I can create tranquil aquariums in the homes of people, with my new found aquarium company.
    Great to find out how the INFP ‘s out there are being?

    • Thank you. Yes, it is a tough balance for us introverted idealists. I hope your career search goes well; always remember that, whatever you do, as long as it comes from the heart, and makes you happy, it is a good choice: when it comes to your life’s work, never compromise.

  5. Wow over the past few months this post has been my exact thoughts, it’s like you’ve crawled into my head! Ive felt so guilty and selfish like I’m the problem I can’t fit into this whole ‘system’. This 9 to 5 thing seems so wrong, such a waste and when I speak about it, people just dont get it.. Thanks for this awesome piece, it’s such a relief finding out there are others who feel the same way and its not just me!

    • You’re very welcome. I’m glad it helped you to feel less alone. Sometimes, even when there are no answers or solutions, it’s good to know others are struggling with the same questions. Take care. ❤

  6. It’s so true there is no answer! But saving is a good plan! I worked full time for a year in a job that left me dead inside. But it paid well and and I saved nearly everything i earnt! By the time I realised it was making me ill, I had enough to just quit and do what I wanted. On top of recovering and becoming myself again, I also traveled… A LOT. I’ve had the best 2 years of my life, and now I am facing having to work again. But that is life, and at least I’ve learnt that I can’t force myself to be good at or enjoy a job that doesn’t suit me. I just have to limp through as best I can until I’ve saved enough to escape! And maybe one day I’ll manage to make a living doing something I love…
    Let’s continue to be corporate-avoiding, cog-jamming, creativity-championing dreamers.
    And thank you for this blog. When I found it, it gave me hope.

    • Thank you for your kind and lovely words. I understand how you feel exactly, and I, too, am unable to work in a job I hate and drains the energy from me mentally and physically, and particularly spiritually, and my plan so far has been to work at a job that is quiet and requires plenty of compassion—Aged Care—and to write when I am not working I write fantasy fiction—I recently posted a short story 🙂 . A good balance, that is the best we can hope for, and it is actually better this way, as if we got lost in ourselves and fantasy, or in doing things by ourselves for too long, we would lose that human connection to other people that is so important for one’s entire well-being. Take care, I hope you find happiness in your life. ❤

Leave a Reply

