City or Country Person?

Hi.

Would you rather live in the city or country? I was having a conversation with my friend the other day. We were visiting a rural area at the time and I remarked that there was something so peaceful about the countryside and how lovely it would be to live there. It was so expansive, so quiet, insects buzzing in the air, sun casting rays that turned mundane objects into idyllic and romantic items straight out of a fairytale.

My friend turned to me and wrinkled her nose. ‘No. It’s too quiet and empty. There are, like, no shops around here. It’s like we are far away from civilization. I mean, there are hardly any people!’

I provided no rejoinder to that. However, inside, I was having a secret chuckle to myself. It was funny how everything which she had mentioned as being distasteful aspects of the countryside were all the things that made me adore it.

I don’t like highways. The rushing noise. The cars whipping past you in a frenzy.

I don’t like tall, grey skyscrapers. They stare down at you, imposing. They block out the beautiful sky. They keep you locked in.

Cities are choked in concrete. It makes me feel like I can’t breathe sometimes.

People are everywhere. You can’t avoid them. They mill through the stores, walk the streets, sit down at cafes. For someone with social anxiety, that can be a nightmare.

The country is a soft, idyllic place. Perhaps that is just my idealism making me view it through rose-coloured glasses, but there is something so immensely soothing about the country.

During my trip, we stayed at this darling little cottage. It was my dream come true, I felt like I was inside the book ‘House on the Prairie’. I sat in trees with great, sweeping boughs and read to my heart’s content, the breeze tangling my hair and the sun kissing my cheeks. I woke up to the sounds of birds trilling. But the greatest thing of all was when I ventured outside one night. In the city, we often forget the look at the stars. Perhaps, sometimes we can’t even see them, what with the pollution and the towering buildings. But in the countryside, the stars were spread out before me upon the heavens, scattered like diamonds.

And as I watched the stars, something deep inside me which had been wound up tight for a long time released. The most wondrous peace radiated through my body. And I was incandescently happy, engulfed in the enormity and magnificence of the universe.

What about you? Do you prefer the country or the city? I’d love to know.

10 thoughts on “City or Country Person?

  1. Having been born and grown up in a city I always thought I wouldn’t survive in rural or semi-rural country towns or regions. But now I think that if given a choice, I’d rather live in the country. All I need to good internet access and I’ll be fine. Cities are just becoming too homogenised and boring if you ask me. People from the country also seem friendlier. Too bad I don’t have a choice though. Will probably be stuck in a city for the rest of my life.

    • I know what you mean. It’s as if people in the country are still in a more idyllic time period, untainted by the competitiveness and fast-paced life of the cities. I was born and grown up in a city as well. I wish I wasn’t sometimes. I am afraid of being stuck in a city for the rest of my life as well. It’s where my family lives, where the jobs are, what I’m used to. But I know that if I ever moved to the country, I wouldn’t regret it. I just hope that day will come sometime in the future.

    • Oh, that’s not fun. You could one day move to another country? But it would probably be a difficult transition. Are you an introvert? That would make city life a lot more unbearable. I suppose you could always become a recluse like Emily Dickinson. 🙂 Sorry, I’m rambling.

      • Oh how I have tried to move to another country. It’s not easy to get visas and stuff. I terms of becoming recluse, i’m almost there =p. I am extremely introverted by the way. I posted about being an INFP here (http://wp.me/p3deHY-2y), just fyi 🙂

      • Oh! I feel for you, my friend. Being an introvert doesn’t make living in a city easier at all, let alone being an INFP. Well, I hope you become the happiest recluse in a city, if you are unable to move. Blinds on the windows and ear muffs!

  2. ❤ I like to think the Country but I dont know
    I stopped by this random town in the Mt Saint Helens area and I was in love. Ran into a older gentlemen and had a chat with him as he fished. He made me realize, this is where I want to be. At peace with mother nature in the woods next to a river. Its so weird, anytime I go some where remote, I feel at home.
    But then there was that one time when I went down to San Diego and found out most gas stations aren't open at 3am. That was absurd since I was coming from a city where every single gas station is open 24/7.
    Although I would like it more remote, thats why I like where I live now. Far from the city (well downtown) but close enough to reap the benefits.

    • I know what you mean. There is something so incredibly peaceful about nature. The greenness and rustling sounds. It makes me feel calm just thinking about it. You sound like you are living in the perfect spot! I’d love to live in such a location. Getting the best of both worlds!

  3. Lived in both. Prefer rural middle of nowhere but like my small town. The big city (Seattle) was too much. Though I have lived in many suburban areas across the USA

Leave a Reply

