10 Things Only The Rich Can Afford

Image

I wasn’t the most privileged kid growing up.

I wrote about this in a previous post, some time ago, about how I was glad I had grown up poor (https://dreamerrambling.wordpress.com/2013/12/09/im-glad-i-grew-up-poor/) because it had made be a more independent and resourceful person with a better view on money.

Today, as I was fondling a gift from one of my friends, it struck my fancy to write a post about items only the rich can afford. In other words, superfluities, stuff that isn’t needed for survival. And might I just add that I realize that I am privileged, growing up in a first world country, and that my idea of poverty is probably the epitome of wealth in some other country. It’s all relative and I fully appreciate and understand that. This is just my point of view based off of my own life experiences. Anyway, enough rambling. Let’s get into it, shall we?

1. Scented Candles. Golly gosh. When I was young, I was just glad that we had enough money to pay the electricity bills so I could read at night. But candles? Candles that smelt nice and were around twenty quid a pop for the good ones? What do I look like, a millionaire? The first time I ever owned one of these was when I was sixteen and it was given to my mother from her wealthy friend as a present. Let’s just say, my sister and I treated it as a deity and fought over the right to light it.

2. Hygiene luxuries. Just all those fancy creams and bath salts and bath bombs and lotions sold in those Bath and Body Works shops in the US with all these different scents and colors and brands. One for your feet, your hair, your body, your ears. As a kid, my idea of ‘pampering’ was a bar of plain soup and a discounted $1 shampoo.

3. Fancy Christmas tree decorations. Have you ever seen how elaborate those things can get? And how expensive? At Christmas, we were lucky to get a tree and a couple of baubles from the dollar store. I remember picking out a 12 pack of cheap baubles for $0.75 cents after the jolly season was over for the next Christmas.

4. Bed decorations. You know what I’m talking about. The matching pillow case, blanket, sheets. The pretty plush pillows in the shapes of hearts or whatever. Some huge soft toys to boot. My pillow and blanket were always mismatched and I kept using them even after they became ragged and had holes. I had one soft toy and its plastic eye was falling out.

5. Designer clothes. Need I say more?

6. Holidays. You’re going on holiday? Well, that’s all fine and dandy but, hm, let’s think about this for a second…if you’re on holiday, that means you’re not working right? And spending hard-earned cash? HOW ARE WE GOING TO PAY THE RENT? No, no, I don’t think we’re going to win the lottery, but thanks for your input.

7. Visits to the cinema. Psssh, you say, it’s just the movies! It’s what, like, fifteen bucks a ticket? What do you mean, you can’t come? Everyone’s going, it’s the coolest, latest film with all these buff dudes and sexy chicks. Well, I’m very sorry but I’m saving up money for school excursions this year. I don’t want to be the kid that stays behind in class doing work while everyone else is off gamboling at the museum. Besides, I like museums better than cinemas. Sue me.

8. Any new gadget-y fandangles.  Yes, I still need to press actual buttons on my phone. No, it’s not touchscreen. No, my TV is not wafer thin and stuck to the wall, it’s hefty and you need to give it a couple of good thumps if the people on screen start being sawed in half by jerky static lines. What? What the hell is an iPhone?

9. Eating out. I’m looking at you, coffee. It’s just cheaper to make meals from scratch at home. I was that kid who, while hanging out with friends at the mall, bought nothing from the stores and sipped water from my own bottle and had a nice sandwich prepared with lots of love by my mother. I never bought coffee, tea or any other beverage. No Starbucks for this gal.

10. Jewelry. When I say jewelry, I mean the real stuff, none of those cheap, jangling, costume jewelry you can get at Forever 21 or something. Like, real silver and gold and gemstones. I swear to god, aren’t those reserved for royalty?

 

Well, that’s it for now. I’d love to hear from any of you, if you have any more ideas for this list.

I’d just like to say that even though I was highly sarcastic in this post, I don’t have anything against ‘privileged’ people.

I wrote this post for the heck of it, because it was fun to write.

And in the hope that perhaps it might have made you take a look at the luxuries in your house right now and wonder if all of it is really necessary.

Until next time.

-Dreamerrambling

 

6 thoughts on “10 Things Only The Rich Can Afford

  1. Holiday, its a luxury I want to be able to afford.
    Starbucks… I remember for the longest time if my friends ever went out to go eat or drink boba, I never got anything. Now I occasionally will ‘treat’ myself.

Leave a Reply

