Becoming A Life Coach: Yes? No?

help

**If any of you who read my blog or are just stumbling across it are needing any life advice or guidance, especially if you are sensitive, introverted or a dreamer and feels a little lost in this cold world, please send your Skype username to dreamerrambling@hotmail.com. Though I can’t guarantee I can speak with everyone, I will try my best. These sessions will be free, as I’m just going to be practicing my life coaching skills and developing my own techniques and learning how to talk and counsel people. Thank you for helping me practice and taking me a step further on this new little journey of mine, and I hope that I can help you in the process too. Please no spam: it’d be good to send a message along with your username telling me a little about yourself. Thanks. Keep dreaming.

Whilst searching on the internet for possible career choices for INFPs, I came across one that struck a chord: life coaching.

After reading a few articles on what this position involved, I have come to the conclusion that, other than writing, which utilises both our literary and creative skills, this would be an ideal career choice for INFPs as it taps into our often pent-up altruistic tendencies.

For those of you have do not know, what life coaches essentially do is help people overcome issues that prevent them from having the life they want, such as a lack of self-confidence or purpose, or recent adversities that have thrown a hammer into the workings of their existence. Through counseling and mentoring, these people then hopefully emerge from the counselling sessions feeling re-energized and healed. Often these sessions are undertaken over the phone, or Skype.

Frankly, as an INFP myself, I can think of few careers so suited to our sensibilities.

Most of our personality type are excellent at reading and analysing people, which would come in useful for targeting things like self-limiting beliefs preventing people from achieving the things they want to. We also like to help people nearly more than anything else, and what could be more gratifying than aiding people in building the life they want in order to achieve their own, unique form of happiness?

Not to mention the fact that most of us are budding philosophers or old souls who are wise beyond our years, and thus able to look at issues from the perspective of a much older and jaded individual.

Very little qualifications other than experience and testimonials are necessary to become a life coach. Personally I would love to work as one, rather young though I may be, especially as a life coach specifically for the groups of people I am care most about, such as INFPs, HSPs, introverts and dreamers.

Considering how many questions I receive through email and comments on this blog regarding life, it certainly seems a viable career path, especially when people who are introverts or HSPs tend to have a harder time of it than those who are not.

Of course, before you start haranguing at me for trying to exploit all my lovely readers at “Dreaming. Living. Loving.” by imposing my sudden, new-found life coaching services upon them, I’d just like to say that all these are but the seeds of ideas at the moment – nothing germinating yet folks, not even a tendril.

However, it is a possibility. Making it as a creative writer in this world isn’t the most lucrative job out there, and what else can an INFP do except capitalise on the few skills valued by society, in my case, my literary, creative and counseling abilities?

Without any hefty inheritances ready to plop into my lap in the near future, or a parent who can support me, and some family debt to boot, lately I have definitely been dwelling more on ways to survive in our capitalist society.

I do not doubt as to whether I am capable of, say, counseling teenagers on their career choices or helping people understand introverted women; it feels as much a part of my blood, my soul, as writing. I have even volunteered, two years ago, as a camp counselor, a brief stint which was very enjoyable.

However what I do not much like is the idea of asking people for money, even for services that I provide. To be honest, it makes me feel guilty, which might sound ridiculous to some, but, well, it’s true. If it were up to me, I’d help people regardless of whether they paid me or not, out of the sheer pleasure of helping others. Unfortunately, this would probably be a fast-track to homelessness, a state which I never plan on entering again.

Either way, it’s just a possibility that has been percolating through my brain. Who knows, perhaps if I do end up acting on it, I could end up helping people using my insight and wisdom, both of which I have in abundance but have little outlet for, and maybe even make a living out of it. That would be very nice; I know we can’t always get what we want in life, such as the jobs most suited to our sensibilities, but we can try.

Would any of you be at all interested, if I did act on this idea? There would be little point in starting a service if there is no need for it. I know that INFPs aren’t the wealthiest individuals out there, nor are introverts and dreamers likely to come from money too, but I could charge low fees, or allow for free sessions.

Or I could just extend my services to everyone, of all personalities and races and walks of life. The more I think about it, there more I feel as if there would be nothing more personally fulfilling. Apart from writing novels, stories and articles, counseling is my one other ability I can offer society.

This is just a thought. If I must wade my through the morass that is our capitalist society, I might as well find some ways of doing so without compromising my integrity and help those whose plights I care about in the process.

17 thoughts on “Becoming A Life Coach: Yes? No?

    • Aw, thanks so much! That’s really encouraging; I stumbled upon this idea on a whim and decided to think it through in a blog post. Of course, it’s still early days, and I’d probably have to go through a lot of practice, experimenting on people for a couple of months so I can provide the best quality services that I can, and there’s also the whole business side to it, of setting up a website and so forth, which I’m not too familiar with but can learn…
      All I now is it is definitely something I want to do to help other loners or misfits, introverts and dreamers, out there in the world, who perhaps feel lost, misunderstood or underappreciated, and would benefit from kind words and wisdom, along with advice and strategies to tackle life. The thought of doing so gives me the same, quiet surge of joy I get when I write, which I know, intuitively, means that it’s a good thing for me to do. Anyway, thanks for your expression of interest – definitely going to mull over this possibility for a while now. 🙂

    • Thank you so much for expressing interest. 🙂 Really, I was biting my nails after writing that, afraid I would be seen as a money-grubbing creature who only cares about turning a profit. When it comes to anything to do with money, I’m have a tendency to get uncomfortable because other people get uncomfortable about it. But I know the point isn’t the money, though it would help me tremendously in my daily life, but the people I can reach out and help on a personal basis, something which I am already doing, on some level, through this blog. The thought of soothing and guiding another lost dreamer out there in the world fills my chest my a quiet blossom of joy. I really think I can do this; all it takes is a great deal of practice, wherein perhaps I shall experiment on a few people over a period of time for free, and see if I’m truly capable of offering useful guidance. After that, well, there’ll probably be a lot of business-y stuff to deal with that will make me want to pull my hair out, and my own qualms about prices and whatnot (frankly, I’ll probably just end up asking people what amount they are capable of paying rather than a set price, though I’m sure there would be some business-y person out there who would groan at my naivety if I told them that). I mean, some life coaches ask for a 100 dollars or more for a single, one-hour session, which for someone like me, who never grew up with much money, is crazy. I could never ask that much from anyone, ever. So. It’s still early days, but I’m going to follow my heart. Actually I can’t wait to meet people, either through Skype or on the phone, and to give them advice and guidance, to help them feel less lost and alone in the world. Sometimes I wish the person I am now existed for myself to talk to when I was in a truly dark period during my younger years. Thanks again, just for your expression of interest. It gives me hope for this new endeavor of mine. And to encourage and help other writers and dreamers and sensitive folks! Oh, I can’t wait. I can’t wait. Frankly, I’d do this for free.

  1. Of course yes. Speaking from an infp perspective as well. There is a movement towards social kinda business – for profit or not for profit. There’s a lot of lonely and lost individual. They will be glad.

    • Thank you for the lovely encouragement. Yes, I entirely agree: I think it’s wonderful that people are using capitalism for the benefit of others by actually desiring to help them rather than amass wealth for themselves. Would you be interested in being a candidate for experimentation? 🙂 As I’m just starting out, I think I’ll probably need to practice talking on Skype and so forth with people before I get comfortable in the role, so, if you are needing any free life advice or guidance, you can send me your Skype username to my email dreamerrrambling@hotmail.com.

  2. Oh, I wish I had Skype to know the wonderful person that you are 🙂 You’re such a sweetie, and being an INFP myself, I know you will get immense pleasure out of helping others. Good luck!

    • Aw, thank you! Skype is easy to join, but, of course, you don’t have to, it’s entirely your choice. I think you’re such a sweetie too. 🙂 ❤ I'm just happy there are kind people out there. It makes it all a little more bearable.

      • I would have to have a web-cam first, but first……….I have to get a job 😛 haha 😉
        Thanks for the love ❤

      • Oh, Skype doesn’t require webcam. I don’t feel comfortable showing my face on camera, so I’ll probably just use the calling option for whoever I talk to. It’s still early days; only a couple of people have sent me their usernames. Ah, capitalist society: yes, a burden we must all bear. I wish you luck in your future job hunting. I shall have to do the same soon, and it makes me cringe to think of it. Lots of love to you too. ❤

      • Wow. LOL Then I guess I have to learn more about this skype thing :O I didn’t know that :O Thanks for the info! 🙂 ❤ Thanks so much for the replies ❤

  3. Hi there. Great post! I came across it in the HSP tags. Fellow HSP and introvert here (INFJ). I too have thought about becoming a life coach, but at this point I don’t have any qualifications. It sounds like a very rewarding career! From reading your post, it sounds like you have have what it takes to be a great life coach.You’re writing is very insightful and inspiring–I’m sure you’ll be a great help to others! If you need any more participants to practice on I’m willing, but if you’ve got your hands full, no problem. 🙂

    • Aw, thank you, lovely person. 🙂 And of course you can; just send me your Skype username and I’ll add you. Of course, I don’t want to impinge on your personal time, so let me know when you are available and I’d love to help you. For me, it’s all just about practice right now, and why not enrich the lives of others in the process? Lots of love.

  4. Did you ever become a coach? I am an infp personality and strangely enough I have been considering training to become a life coach. I am currently working as a nurse and I know I need to find something that is more suited to my personality. I just wondered how it worked out for you?

    • No, I didn’t end up becoming a life coach; I will be writing about how things have been going for me in terms of careers in my latest post, if you’re interested. Thanks for reading. 🙂

Leave a Reply

